Saturday, October 23, 2021


On Wednesday evening, 27th March, Benoni Aurora Rotary Club held its annual Paul Harris Awards evening. It was well attended and the decor, ambiance, fellowship was superb!

There were 4 nominees. Namely:

Colin Du Bruin (Sapphire pin): nominated by Grace Van Zyl;
Rosie Van Olst: nominated by Cheryl Kindon;
Ann Du Bruin: nominated by Gail Wilson;

Wayne Duvenhage: nominated by Ray Booth.

All nominations are measured against the criteria as approved by the board.


Wayne’s community initiatives have been:

  • Building a Media Centre at Motheong Primary School at Atteridgeville
  • Planting of trees Thutuka Primary School in Thembisa
  • Raising funds for the Jumping Kids Project which makes prosthetics for children and enables mobility in their lives
  • Raising funds for Hope School
  • Co-founder of Driving Ambitions, a driving school with specially adapted vehicles and training requirements – dedicated for the disabled community
  • Channelling carbon offset funds toward the Basa Magogo eductation project, which reduces emissions and costs related to heating in impoverished communities.
  • Launching South Africa’s first Carbon Neutral Corporate programme in 200

Wayne has always been a service above self person and always lived his life with honesty and integrity.

Ladies and Gentleman, it is with a great deal of pride that Benoni Aurora is awarding Wayne the Paul Harris in recognition of his unwavering and unselfish commitment to serving his fellow South Africans.

Rotarian Ray Booth